Date of Uxbridge and South Ruislip by-election announced

Thursday 15 June: The by-election for the parliamentary constituency of Uxbridge and South Ruislip will take place on Thursday 20 July 2023 following the resignation of Boris Johnson as a Member of Parliament on Friday 9 June. 

Residents living in the Uxbridge and South Ruislip constituency, who are registered to vote, will start to receive their poll cards through the post from Friday 23 June.  

The cards include information on how to arrange a postal or proxy vote for those who cannot make it to their polling station on Thursday 20 July.  

The deadline for residents living in the Uxbridge and South Ruislip constituency to register to vote in the parliamentary by-election is Tuesday 4 July. More information about how to register to vote is available at

Following new legislation introduced in May 2023, all residents voting in person must remember to bring a form of photo ID with them. 

Accepted forms of ID include a current or expired UK passport or photo driving licence including a provisional one. Expired IDs are acceptable, as long as the photo still bears a true resemblance. Only original documents are accepted; photos of your ID, copies or digital versions saved on phones and smart devices are not acceptable. 

Details of other forms of approved photo ID are available at

If you don't have any form of photo ID from the accepted list, or your ID no longer looks like you, you are eligible to apply for a Voter Authority Certificate. Applicants must already be registered to vote. The deadline for applications for the upcoming by-election is 5pm on Wednesday 12 July.  

The requirement for voters to show photo ID at polling stations now applies to all future local elections and local by-elections, recall petitions and UK parliamentary by-elections. It will also apply to general elections (excluding by-elections) from Thursday 5 October 2023. 

The full list of candidates will be available at from 5pm Friday 23 June 2023 along with more information about the by-election. 

Page last updated: 15 Feb 2024